BEST SCIENCE FICTION SHORT STORY OF ALL TIME

I grew up on science fiction short stories. Before I was old enough to pick what I wanted to read, my mother read me fairy tales. Not the Disney versions where everyone lived happily ever after, but the real Grimm faerie tales and Hans Christian Anderson’s lovely and tragic stories.

Once I could choose what I wanted to read, I began to devour the library. I started at the beginning of the alphabet, the As. Now, I didn’t read everything in the As, because most of the books didn’t intereasimovst me that much. Instead, I skimmed the beginning of the fiction section in our local library, until I came to the phenomenal writer, Isaac Asimov. At that instant, a tradition began that would continue through  puberty, through all the joys and horrors of my teenage years, through college, marriage and on until now.

And there is where I found what I consider arguably the best science fiction short story of all time…

…NIGHTFALL. NIGHTFALL was written by Asimov in 1941 and first appeared in Astounding Magazine. Asimov and Robert Silverberg later collaborated on increasing the story to novel-length, but the longer work does not (IMHO) hold a candle to the original short story. On the other hand, the short story has held up for over 70 years.

I’m not going tnightfallo spoil the story for anyone who hasn’t read it, but I will entice you by saying that it is possibly one of the most innovative plots in all of fiction.

You really need to read NIGHTFALL. You will be amazed.

I invite you to try my latest book, futuristic time travel, TIME RIDER. Click here to purchase it for 99 cents.

4 thoughts on “BEST SCIENCE FICTION SHORT STORY OF ALL TIME

  1. Who cares if Friday isn’t a short story, right? I loved it too! Did you ever read Citizen of the Galaxy? That’s my favorite Heinlein. And yes, I know what I’m saying. Of all the Heinlein books–Stranger in a Strange Land, The Cat Who Walked Through Walls, Friday (nodding at Deanna), I still loved Thorby’s story best. If you haven’t read it, you owe it to yourself (IMO).

    Thanks for reminding me of Friday, Deanna!

Leave a Reply

